Safety

If you think that you fell the victim of telephone fraudsters You may apply to the law enforcement bodies in respect of the fact of fraud. The cellular communication operator is not responsible for the actions of fraudsters and cannot function as the law enforcement bodies as it pertains to bringing into responsibility of persons, committed illegal acts in respect of subscribers.

Please, be watchful, do not have come across the tricks of fraudsters!

 

Viral messages sent via WhatsApp and Viber apps

Kcell JSC warns its customers of viral messages sent via WhatsApp and Viber apps.

The app users have recently started to get messages advertising some third-party applications that promise free access to the Internet. The aim is to prompt you to download a malicious application or visit a malicious webpage by clicking the link contained therein. It is not uncommon that app users may get seduced by false information about extremely cheap deals and stuff like that, and end up clicking the viral link or even sharing it with their friends.

By clicking the link, you may wind up with:

  • an unsolicited subscription
  • your smartphone being infected by malicious software that will automatically send your private data to a remote server, etc

Kcell JSC urges its customers to remain vigilant and follow these simple rules:

  • if you are offered an unusually cheap deal, etc. use other sources to double-check the information
  • install antivirus software on your smartphone and make sure you always have the latest version
  • do not click links in messages that come from unknown senders; if they come from someone you know, contact him/her for more information before using that link

SMS containing a malicious link

Fraudsters can send bulk SMS message which contains a malicious link. By following this link you face the risk of having a virus file downloaded automatically onto your phone. The virus can cause damage to your phone in various ways, from transfer of your personal information to intruders to unauthorized sending of expensive SMS from your phone.

SMS may look like:

«Your friend has left a comment on your photos on www.×××××. Follow this link www.××××× to read it.»

What to do?

Do not follow the links contained in the SMS messages from an unknown and / or suspicious source. There’s a good likelihood that it will take you to a malicious site where you can get a viral code which is installed on mobile phones powered by OS. If you receive a fraud SMS, contact our Call Center for further instructions.

False prize

A call is made or an SMS is incoming to your cellular phone, informing that some particular company (radio-station, chain of shops etc.) is carrying out a campaign (lottery) and you became a winner of the valuable prize (cellular phone, car, home appliances etc.). Then the fraudsters will request you to transfer a certain amount to the phone numbers or to purchase the payment cards and advise of their secret code under the guise of payment of taxes against the won prize or payment of goods delivery.

What to do?

Before taking any action try to find out if such a campaign takes place by applying to the Call Center of our Company.

Remember, that the company, in the names of which messages come, are besides such information. Fraudsters, knowing the high business reputation of such companies, use their names (brands, trademarks) to mislead the subscribers.

Companies, carrying out campaigns, do not request to transfer money, including by advising of the secret codes of payment cards.

SMS to the costive short number

If you are requested to make a call to a short number (mainly the 4-digit) it means most likely the costive services of content-providers (when the cost of 1 SMS may amount to several thousand Tenge).

SMS may look like:

«You have received a voice message (or an MMS) and to listen to it (look through) you are required to send an SMS to number ХХХХ with the code YYYY».

If you have received a voice message in fact, a notification to your number should come from the sender «2000». If in the filed «sender» there is specified any other number, then this message is fraudulent, i.e. after sending of a message to the specified number a sum, much exceeding as a rule the cost of the listened to voice message is withdrawn from the account of the subscriber. Dear user! You are required to activate your number. For this purpose send an SMS to short num ХХХХ with the text YYYY. Activation is free of charge«.

«Dear user! You are required to activate your number. For this purpose send an SMS to short num ХХХХ with the text YYYY. Activation is free of charge».

Activation of the number is done once at purchase of the number and further actions with the number are done only through the subscriber offices and points of sale.

«How do you do! It’s mama of Zhasmin, who urgently needs surgery. By sending so many SMS-messages what soul tells you to number ХХХХ with the text YYYY, you will contribute to her recovery. The cost of SMS — 25 tenge. Thank you!»

What to do?

When such messages are received make a call to the Call Center of our Company to obtain more specific information.

Injury to the relative

A call is made to your phone, the calling person introduces him(her)self as your relative or friend (colleague) and with the agitated voice informs that he(she) had an accident. For example, he(she) became a participant of the road vehicle accident, automobile-pedestrian accident etc. And exactly at that moment the telephone of your «relative» («friend/colleague») is out of order (has been lost, batteries are low etc.), for this reason he(she) is forced to make a call from another phone. And since he(she) is forced to make a great number of calls you are requested to replenish his(her) balance. Further there comes a request to buy a payment car and to inform of its secret code by phone.

What to do?

First of all, try to immediately get in touch with your relative or friend, as if being in trouble, or to get other information of him(her) from reliable sources. And if the fraudster introduced him(her)self as your relative (friend/colleague), then it will be necessary to ask some questions, which will allow you to check the person you are talking to if he(she) is the exact person, who has been introduced to you. Consider, that the fraudsters in many cases use information from the social sites and it happens that they are able to answer some certain questions you can ask to identify a person you are talking to. In such a way they can know the place of residence, the model of the car, family status, names and surnames of relatives and other data.

Blocking viruses

On the screen of your computer/smartphone the following messages can appear:

«Virus is found in your computer. To eliminate it send a message to number ХХХХ with the text YYYY.»

«License of your operational system Windows has been expired, to extend it sent a message to number ХХХХ with the text YYYY and so on.»

«Your device is blocked since you are using the prohibited sites, you are requested to pay a penalty. Ministry of Information. And so on.» И т.п.

What to do?

Never send messages to the indicated short number, instead make a call to the Call Center of the Company and get recommendations how to act further. In major cases massages of such kind are fraudulent and SMS sending will not resolve your problem.

Software products of SMS and communication interception, position identification

As of today, you can face an offer to purchase a variety of services, such as: «Program to read his/her SMS», «Program tom intercept communication on his/her phone», «Phone controller», «Mobile detector», «Mobile locator», an so on. As it is seen from the names, the fraudsters offer subscribers to read another’s SMS-messages, monitor the history of calls of another subscriber or monitor the place of location of a subscriber etc.

Currently, the company does not have information on real existence of such programs, which allow to read out and transmit information to third parties. Most probably, these actions are committed by the fraudsters by using special devices or programs, which are installed in the cellular phone of a subscriber fraudulently.

What to do?

To prevent such actions we recommend not to hand over your phone to other persons. To protect a cellular phone from the unauthorized access it will be required to set a password for block release (read the User Manual of your phone model).

It is important to remember that illegal violation of secrecy of correspondence and other messages is prohibited and will result in criminal responsibility as established by legislation of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Payment card fraud

The cases of fraudulent bank transfers from the payment card as payment for communication services or goods purchase became more frequent.

Recommendations:

  • To pay in stores, places of rest in your presence;
  • Do not provide anyone verbal or written details of your bank card;
  • Do not store in writing the PIN and secret word;
  • To activate the SMS notification from the bank. This service will help you to receive instant notification of any changes in the funds on your card.

In case of suspicious transactions you need as quickly as possible to apply to the bank to block the card and file an application with the law enforcing bodies.

Social media scams

You get a message from an acquaintance of yours through social media asking to urgently you top up his/her phone (or similar request involving money transfer).

What to do?

You have to realize that such kind of messages may come from compromised accounts. That is, someone uses a hacked account to send scam messages to its owner’s friends. The first thing to do is contact the owner of that account through other channels to find out if he/she had really sent that message.

Recommendations

If your mobile account is linked to your bank or social media account, e-wallet, email, etc., it is highly recommended that you have your mobile number registered in your name. Otherwise, your personal data and money could be jeopardized. For additional protection, we recommend setting a code word for all types of activity involving your phone number. To set a code word, apply in writing to your nearest Kcell Center.

Recheck information, received from unknown persons, who introduced themselves as your relatives, friends, acquaintances and require immediate actions, such as — money transfer, loading of payment cards, SMS sending to a short number!

Before taking part in any campaign/drawing of prizes call to the Call Center of our Company and obtain more specific information if this campaign/drawing of prizes takes place and get to know the call/SMS cost.

Beforehand get acquainted with the description of unknown/not checked applications until they are installed into the phone. Most probably it is a virus, which can on its own send SMS or make calls.

Wait before loading the reference, which came from the unknown number, to look through any information/mms/voice message etc.

To identify applications, which send sms, and to limit them in respect of sms sending without your consent, it will be required to take the steps as follows:

  • if your phone is supported by the operative system Android: Settings 〉Applications 〉Application management. The list of all set in the phone applications will appear. It will be required to open each application and look through a description. The applications, which send sms on their own, provide for the tip in the description from the bottom «Potentiality of SMS sending».
  • if your phone is supported by the operative system Symbian: Parameters 〉Applications manager 〉Set applications. The list of all set in the phone applications will appear. It will be possible to pick out each application and prohibit to use the sms as follows: Functions — Applications parameters — sms use — prohibit.

Be careful! Do not send SMS to eliminate viruses in your computer and extend the software licenses since similar schemes have not been realized currently.

Pay attention that information of the conditions of holding of various campaigns, quizzes and drawings, organized independently or with involvement of partners of our Company, is accessible on the corporate sites of the Company (www.kcell.kz, www.activ.kz) or in the subscriber offices. Moreover, the Company does not carry out any promo campaigns related to provision of the secret code of payment cards to other persons as well it does not perform any technical works with involvement of subscribers, including those related to necessity of entry, sending from the cellular phone of any information, making a call or changing the access passwords.

Apply for consultations on a 24-hour basis to the Call Center of the Company by 8(727)2588300, 8(727)2588000 or from the cellular number to 9090.

Безопасность

Если Вы считаете, что стали жертвой телефонных мошенников, рекомендуем обратиться в правоохранительные органы по данному факту. Оператор сотовой связи не несет ответственности за действия мошенников и не может исполнять функции правоохранительных органов по привлечению к ответственности лиц, совершивших противоправные действия в отношении абонентов.

Пожалуйста, будьте бдительны, не попадайтесь на уловки мошенников!

 

SMS, содержащее вредоносную ссылку

Мошенники производят массовую SMS рассылку на абонентские номера. В сообщении указана ссылка, при прохождении по которой на телефон абонента автоматически скачивается файл, содержащий вирус. Действия вируса могут быть различными — от передачи конфиденциальных данных злоумышленникам до несанкционированной отправки с телефона дорогостоящих SMS.

Пример текста SMS:

«Ваш друг оставил комментарий к фото, на сайте „www._____“, чтобы открыть, пройдите по ссылке „www_______“.»

Что делать?

Не рекомендуется переходить по ссылкам, содержащимся в SMS от неизвестного и/или подозрительного источника. Велика вероятность того, что содержимое на этом сайте — вирусная программа, которая устанавливается на телефоны с операционной системой. При получении подобных сообщений, позвоните в справочно-информационный центр Kcell, чтобы уточнить полученную информацию.

Ложный приз

На телефон поступает звонок или SMS с информацией о том, что некой компанией (радиостанцией, сетью магазинов и пр.) проводится акция (лотерея), и Вы стали обладателем приза (сотовый телефон, автомобиль, бытовая техника, квартира и пр.). Затем мошенники просят перечислить сумму денег на номера, или просят приобрести карты оплаты и сообщить секретный код, под видом уплаты налогов в счет выигранного приза или оплаты доставки товара.

Что делать?

Прежде, чем что-либо делать, выясните, проводится ли такая акция, обратившись в справочно-информационный центр нашей Компании.

Помните, что зачастую компании, от имени которых приходят сообщения, в действительности не имеют к такой информации никакого отношения. Мошенники, зная высокую деловую репутацию таких компаний, используют их названия (бренды, торговые марки) для введения абонентов в заблуждение.

Компании, проводящие акции, не просят перечислять деньги, в том числе путем сообщения секретных кодов карт оплат.

SMS на дорогостоящий короткий номер

Если Вас просят ответить на короткий номер (в основном, 4-значный), то это, с большой долей вероятности, дорогостоящие услуги контент-провайдеров (когда стоимость 1 SMS может составлять несколько сотен тенге).

Примеры текста SMS:

«Вы получили голосовое сообщение (или MMS). Чтобы прослушать (просмотреть), необходимо отправить SMS на номер ХХХХ с кодом YYYY».

Если Вы на самом деле получили голосовое сообщение, то уведомление на Ваш номер должно прийти от отправителя «2000». Если же в поле «отправитель» будет любой другой номер, то данное сообщение является мошенническим, т.е. после отправки сообщения на указанный номер, со счета абонента снимается сумма, как правило, намного превышающая стоимость прослушивания голосового сообщения.

«Уважаемый пользователь! Вам необходимо активировать номер. Для этого отправьте SMS на номер ХХХХ с текстом YYYY. Активация бесплатная».

Активация номера производится один раз при покупке номера и дальнейшие действия с номером только через абонентские отделы и точки продаж".

«Здравствуйте! Вас беспокоит мама Жасмин, которой срочно необходима операция. Отправив сколько не жалко SMS на номер ХХХХ с текстом YYYY, Вы внесете свой вклад в ее выздоровление. Стоимость SMS 25 тенге. Спасибо Вам!»

Что делать?

При получении подобных сообщений, позвоните в справочно-информационный центр нашей Компании, чтобы уточнить полученную информацию.

Несчастный случай с родственником

На телефон поступает звонок. Звонящий представляется родственником или другом (коллегой) и сообщает, что с ним произошел несчастный случай. Например, он стал участником ДТП, совершил наезд на пешехода и т.д. При этом у «родственника» («друга/коллеги») именно в этот момент сломался телефон (потерялся, села батарея и пр.), поэтому приходится звонить с чужого, а поскольку ему необходимо совершить еще немало звонков, он просит Вас пополнить его баланс. Далее следует просьба купить карты оплаты и сообщить по телефону секретный код.

Что делать?

Прежде всего попытайтесь сразу же связаться с родственником или другом, якобы попавшим в беду или добыть сведения о нем из достоверных источников. А если сам мошенник представился родственником (другом/коллегой), то необходимо задать ему несколько вопросов, которые позволят проверить собеседника, тот ли он, за кого себя выдает. Имейте в виду, что мошенники нередко используют данные из социальных сетей и способны ответить на некоторые вопросы, которые Вы можете задать для идентификации собеседника. Так, им могут быть известны место жительства, марка автомобиля, семейное положение, имена и фамилии родственников и другие данные.

Вирусы блокировщики

На экране устройства появляется сообщения следующего содержания:

«В Вашем компьютере обнаружен вирус. Для его устранения отправьте сообщение на номер ХХХХ с текстом YYYY.»

«Лицензия Вашей операционной системы Windows закончена, для ее продления отправьте сообщение на номер ХХХХ с текстом YYYY.»

«Ваше устройство блокировано в связи с тем, что вы находитесь на запрещенных сайтах, просим оплатить штраф. Министерство информаций.» И т.п.

Что делать?

Ни в коем случае не отправляйте сообщения на указанный короткий номер, вместо этого позвоните в справочно-информационный центр Kcell и получите рекомендации в отношении дальнейших действий. В большинстве случаев сообщения подобного рода являются мошенническими, и отправка SMS не решит проблемы.

Программы перехвата SMS, прослушивания и определение местонахождения абонента

Существуют предложения о приобретении сервисов, таких как: «Программа для чтения его/ее SMS»; «Программа прослушивания ее/его телефона»; «Контроллер телефонов»; «Мобильный детектор»; «Мобильный локатор» и т.д. Как видно из названий, мошенники абонентам предлагается читать чужие SMS-сообщения, отслеживать историю звонков другого абонента или определять местонахождение абонента.

Компания не располагает информацией о действительности существования таких программ, позволяющих считывать и передавать информацию третьим лицам. Возможно, действия мошенники осуществляют путем использования специальных устройств или программ, которые обманным путем устанавливаются на сотовый телефон абонента.

Что делать?

Для предотвращения подобных действий рекомендуем не передавать сотовый телефон другим лицам. Для защиты сотового телефона от несанкционированного доступа, установите пароль на разблокировку.

Важно помнить, что нарушение тайны переписки, телефонных переговоров и иных сообщений запрещено и влечет за собой уголовную ответственность установленную законодательством Республики Казахстан.

Мошенничество с платежными картами

Возможны случаи мошеннических банковских переводов с платежной карты в счет оплаты услуг сотовой связи или покупки товара.

Наши рекомендации:

  • Производить оплату в магазинах, местах отдыха только в вашем присутствии;
  • Не предоставлять никому устно или письменно реквизиты банковской карты;
  • Не хранить в письменном виде PIN и кодовое слово;
  • Подключить SMS уведомление от банка. Эта услуга поможет получать моментальные уведомления об изменениях с денежными средствами на карте.

В случае обнаружения подозрительных транзакций, нужно как можно быстрее обратиться в банк и заблокировать карту, а также написать заявление в правоохранительные органы.

Сообщения через социальные сети

Через социальную сеть приходит сообщение от знакомого с просьбой пополнить баланс номера телефона (или любая другая просьба, связанная с передачей денежных средств) в связи со сложившимися обстоятельствами.

Что делать?

Такие сообщения могут приходить со взломанных аккаунтов. То есть злоумышленник, взломав аккаунт пользователя, делает типовую рассылку всем друзьям данного аккаунта. В первую очередь свяжитесь с владельцем аккаунта по другим каналам и уточните, действительно ли он присылал данное сообщение.

Рекомендации

В случае, если Вы привязываете к номеру сотового телефона банковские карты, кошельки электронных денег, аккаунты социальных сетей, электронную почту и тд., то настоятельно рекомендуем регистрировать номер на свое имя. В случае, если номер не будет оформлен на ваше имя, то персональные данные и денежные средства могут оказаться под угрозой. Для дополнительной защиты рекомендуем установить кодовое слово на все действия с номером. Для установки кодового слова напишите заявление в любом центре обслуживания клиентов Kcell.

Перепроверяйте информацию от неизвестных лиц, которые представились родственниками, друзьями или знакомыми и требуют поспешных действий, таких как — перевод денежных средств, загрузка карт оплаты, отправка SMS на короткий номер.

Перед участием в акции/розыгрыше призов, позвоните в справочно-информационный центр Компании и уточните, проводится ли такая акция/розыгрыш и узнайте стоимость звонка и SMS.

Не спешите загружать ссылку, которая пришла от неизвестного номера, чтобы просмотреть информацию/MMS/голосовое сообщение и пр.

Заранее ознакомьтесь с описанием незнакомых и не проверенных приложений, прежде чем устанавливать на телефон. Возможно, это вирус, который самостоятельно отправляет SMS или совершает звонки.

Чтобы определить приложения, которые сами отправляют SMS и ограничить отправку сообщений без Вашего согласия, сделайте следующие шаги:

  • если устройство на ОС Android: Настройки 〉Приложения 〉Управление приложениями. Появится список установленных приложений. Зайдите в каждое приложение и посмотрите описание. В тех, которые сами отправляют SMS, в описании снизу стоит галочка «Возможность отправки SMS».
  • если устройство на ОС Symbian: Параметры 〉Диспетчер приложений 〉Установленные приложения. Появится список установленных приложений. Выделите каждое приложение и запретите использование SMS (Функции 〉Параметры приложения 〉 использование SMS 〉"Запретить"

Будьте внимательны! Не отправляйте SMS, чтобы устранить вирусы на компьютере и продлить лицензии программного обеспечения, так как подобные схемы не реализованы.

Рекомендуем ремонтировать и обслуживать устройство только в официальных или проверенных сервисных центрах. В случае передачи телефона третьим лицам (для ремонта и пр.), рекомендуем вынимать SIM-карту из телефона.

Обратите внимание, что информация об условиях проведения акций, викторин и розыгрышей, организуемых самостоятельно или с участием партнеров нашей Компании, доступна на корпоративных сайтах Компании — www.kcell.kz, www.activ.kz — или в абонентских отделах. Компания не проводит рекламных акций, связанных с предоставлением секретного кода карт оплаты другим лицам, не производит технические работы с привлечением абонентов, в том числе связанных с необходимостью ввода, отправки с сотового телефона информации, произведения звонка или смены паролей доступов.

За консультацией обращайтесь в круглосуточную справочную службу Компании по номерам 8(727)2588300, 8(727)2588000 или 9090.